Naughty Dog Feared Last of Us Reviews!

Naughty Dog creative director Neil Druckmann feared that the companies blockbuster release The Last of Us would not review well, and how us gamers would receive it.

the-last-of-us-dlc

Druckmann had this to say in the latest issue of Game Informer, “The thing when you do a new IP is that you really don’t know. You hope for the best and fear the worst, as clichéd as that sounds.”

“It depends on when you asked me during production. If you had asked me a few months out, I would have said that we were going to review poorly and I don’t know how it’s going to sell. As we got closer to finishing it, it felt like it was coming together. I remember going into E3, and I was telling game director Bruce Straley, ‘I don’t think it’s going to be received well.’ I get Uncharted – it’s got that summer blockbuster feel. It’s got the spectacle. Here, it’s got this very different, intimate feel to it. There are long stretches where there isn’t much action and I don’t know how gamers are going to relate to that.”

Druckmann’s fears were of course not needed as The Last of Us has gone on to be the highest rated game of the year so far.

Posted on August 7, 2013, in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

